Intervention Tool Chart :: Reading

Looking for an intervention for your students?  The Intervention Tools Chart is designed to be used by educators as a resource to locate interventions, instructional practices, and learning strategies that can be used within an RtI process.  Please note:  the listing of specific tools is not meant as an endorsement by the NYS RtI MS DP or the NYSED.  Rather, it is up to the consumer to research selected tools for evidence of effectiveness.  The chart contains three types of tools that are either free or available for purchase:  commercial programs, instructional practices, and learning strategies.

Phonemic Awareness, Phonics & Decoding
Tier III

The Barton Reading & Spelling System® is a one-to-one tutoring system designed to improve the reading, writing, and spelling skills of children, teenagers, or adults who struggle due to dyslexia or another learning disability. Although the program is designed to be one-to-one, it may also be used in a small group setting, but each level will take longer to complete.

Bright Beginnings

Commercial Program
Phonemic Awareness, Phonics & Decoding
Tier I

Bright Beginnings is an early childhood curriculum, based in part on the High/Scope® and The Creative Curriculum® models, with additional emphasis on building early language and literacy skills. The curriculum consists of nine thematic units designed to enhance cognitive, social, emotional, and physical development. Each unit includes concept maps, literacy lessons, center activities, and home activities. Parent involvement is also a key component of the program.


Commercial Program
Comprehension, Oral Reading Fluency, Phonemic Awareness, Phonics & Decoding, Vocabulary

S.P.I.R.E is an intensive reading program for non-readers and struggling readers. This multisensory program is based on the Orton-Gillingham approach.


Commercial Program
Phonemic Awareness, Phonics & Decoding

The SIPPS program is a systematic decoding program that helps developing and struggling readers. Teachers at all grade levels can provide instruction based on student need, as determined by the SIPPS placement test.  Additionally, it makes use of grade-appropriate materials.


There are three levels in the SIPPS program—Beginning and Extension Levels for grades K–3 and Challenge Level for grades 2–12. The content of Beginning and Extension Levels is covered by SIPPS Plus for grades 4–12.


When used as a developmental reading program, SIPPS is intended for kindergarteners through fourth-graders. As an intervention program, it can be used in grades 1–12.

Sign Up For
Website Updates