Houghton Mifflin Mathematics

Commercial Program
Number Sense, Counting & Cardinality, Operations, Decimals, Fractions, Place Value, Measurement & Data, Algebra, Geometry, Problem Solving, Statistics
Tier I
Target Student

all ability levels


Houghton Mifflin Mathematics is a core curriculum designed for students in grades K-6. The program emphasizes the five content strands and processes recommended by the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics Standards. At each grade level the program focuses on basic skills development, problem solving, and vocabulary expansion to help students master key math concepts. The program incorporates assessments—including lesson-level interventions to meet the needs of all learners—to monitor students’ progress. Students practice daily math lessons through instructional software, enrichment worksheets, manipulatives, and workbooks in addition to student textbooks. 


Houghton Mifflin Mathematics provides three-step teaching plans for every lesson. Lessons start with an introduction (called a teaching step). Teachers then conduct a guided practice session, which is followed by independent student practice. The lessons end with a brief assessment and summary. Ongoing assessment is incorporated into the program to monitor students’ progress.

Mathematical content at each grade level is divided into topical units. The number of units for each school year ranges from 7-13 (grade/topic dependent. Each unit consists of 2–4 lessons, typically corresponding to a specific chapter in the textbook. 

Research Summary

What Works Clearinghouse

Related Websites

Information on this entry was adapted from US Department of Education. (2007). Houghton Mifflin Mathematics. WWC Intervention Report. Retrieved from https://ies.ed.gov/ncee/wwc/Docs/InterventionReports/WWC_Houghton_Mifflin_043007.pdf

Sign Up For
Website Updates